Is Mumbai a district or city?

How many district are there in Mumbai?

It is also known as Maharashtra Day, initially with 22 districts on 1974. 14 new districts have been created since then, and currently the number of districts in the state is 36.


Name Mumbai City
Headquarters Mumbai
Administrative Division Konkan
Area (km2) 157
Population (2011 Census) 3,085,411

Which city comes under Mumbai District?

This is the second smallest district of Maharashtra, and the jurisdiction of Mumbai Suburban district extends from Bandra to Dahisar, from Kurla to Mulund& from Kurla up to Trombay creek.

Mumbai Suburban district
State Maharashtra
Division Konkan
Headquarters Bandra
Tehsils 1. Kurla, 2. Andheri, 3. Borivali

What is included in Mumbai city?

It has 87 villages. The jurisdiction of Mumbai Suburban District is from Bandra to Dahisar, from Kurla (Chuna Bhatti) to Mulund and from Kurla and upto Trombay Creek.

Beaches :

  • Juhu Beach.
  • Madh Beach.
  • Manori Beach.
  • Aksa Beach.
  • Gorai Beach.
  • Versova Beach.
  • Erangal Beach.

How many district are there in Maharashtra?

The State has 35 districts which are divided into six revenue divisions viz. Konkan, Pune, Nashik, Aurangabad, Arnravati and Nagpur for administrative purposes. The State has a long tradition of having statutory bodies for planning at the district level.

Is Maharashtra a city?

Maharashtra is the world’s second-most populous first-level administrative country sub-division. Were it a nation in its own right, Maharashtra would be the world’s tenth-most populous state, followed by Mexico.

List of metropolitan areas in Maharashtra.

IT IS AMAZING:  Can NRI renew Indian driving license?
Rank 33
Name Achalpur City
District Amravati
Population 1,28,293