Question: Which state is Delhi in India?

Is it Delhi is a state?

New Delhi, the capital of India, became a state in 1992 under the national capital territory Act. Under this system of diarchy, the elected Government is given wide powers; except law and order that remain with the central Government.

Is New Delhi a part of India?

New Delhi, national capital of India. It is situated in the north-central part of the country on the west bank of the Yamuna River, adjacent to and just south of Delhi city (Old Delhi) and within the Delhi national capital territory.

Is Delhi a state or UT 2020?

Current union territories

Union territory ISO 3166-2:IN UT established
Andaman and Nicobar Islands IN-AN 1 November 1956
Chandigarh IN-CH 1 November 1966
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu IN-DH 26 January 2020
Delhi IN-DL 1 November 1956

How many states are there in Delhi?

National Capital Territory of Delhi has 11 Districts – North, North- East, North-West, West, South, South- West, South-East, New- Delhi, Central, Shahdara and East. South Delhi district is one of the 11 Districts of NCT of Delhi.

In which state is Delhi now?

Located on the Yamuna river, Delhi is bordered by the state of Haryana on three sides and by Uttar Pradesh to the east.

IT IS AMAZING:  Who is the guru of India?
Capital of Delhi Sultanate 1214
Capital of British India 1911
Formation of Union Territory 1956
Formation of National Capital Territory 1 February 1992

Is Delhi part of Punjab?

In 1947, the partition of India led to the province being divided into East Punjab and West Punjab, in the newly independent dominions of India and Pakistan respectively.

Punjab Province (British India)

Punjab Province
• Delhi Territory transferred to Punjab from North-Western Provinces 1858
• North-West Frontier Province separated from Punjab 1901

Was Delhi a union territory?

After 1947, it became the capital of India and was made a Union Territory in 1956. Delhi was renamed as National Capital Territory (NCT) of Delhi on February 1, 1992.

What is the state of Mumbai?

What are the 7 cities of Delhi?

Historians speak of the “Seven Cities of Delhi” but, between 1100 A.D. and 1947 A.D., there have actually been eight of them:

  • The oldest city near the site of the Qutab Minar.
  • Siri.
  • Tughlqabad.
  • Jahanpanah.
  • Firozobad.
  • The city around Purana Qila.
  • Shahjahanabad.
  • New Delhi.

Why Delhi is a capital of India?

The foundation of Delhi was laid at the Coronation Durbar of 1911 by King George V as the Capital of British India. … Shifting of the Capital from Calcutta to Delhi was led by two major factors: Indian Councils Act of 1909. The ongoing crisis caused by the Bengal partition.