Quick Answer: Which monuments in Delhi did the British?

What are the three monuments built by British?

Monuments built by the British were: India Gate, Delhi. The Parliament House, Delhi. Rashtrapati Bhavan.

What did Britishers built in India?

The British built the railways primarily for themselves, using their own technology and forcing Indians to buy British equipment. Each mile of the Indian railway constructed cost nine times as much as the same in the US, and twice that in difficult and less populated Canada and Australia.

How many monuments are in Delhi?

Delhi consists of 3 World Heritage Sites, 174 National Protected Monuments and over hundreds of state protected monuments and several unprotected and lesser known monuments.

Who built the Gateway of India?

How did the old city of Delhi change under the British?

The British wanted Delhi to forget its Mughal past so it changed the old city of Delhi. The area around the Fort was completely cleared of gardens, pavilions and mosques (though temples were left intact). The British wanted a clear ground for security reasons. … No worship was allowed in the Jama Masjid for five years.

Which are the forts built by British in India?

Fort St. George, India

IT IS AMAZING:  Quick Answer: Why does Apple India take so long shipping?
Fort St. George
Built 1639
Built by British East India Company
In use Government of Tamil Nadu
Garrison information

Is India still under British?

The country was deeply divided along religious lines. In 1946-47, as independence grew closer, tensions turned into terrible violence between Muslims and Hindus. In 1947 the British withdrew from the area and it was partitioned into two independent countries – India (mostly Hindu) and Pakistan (mostly Muslim).

What was India called before British rule?

“Hindustan”, as the term Hindu itself, entered the English language in the 17th century. In the 19th century, the term as used in English referred to the Subcontinent. “Hindustan” was in use simultaneously with “India” during the British Raj.