What three zones is India divided into?

What are the three zones of ancient India?

Regions The Indian subcontinent is divided into three major zones: the well-watered northern plain, the dry triangular Deccan, and the coastal plains on either side of the Deccan. The northern plain lies just south of the mountains.

How do monsoons affect life in India quizlet?

How do monsoon winds affect life in India? they bring the rainy season that helps crops grow.

What is the latitudinal and longitudinal location of India?

India is a vast country. Lying entirely in the Northern hemisphere (Figure 1.1) the main land extends between latitudes 8°4’N and 37°6’N and longitudes 68°7’E and 97°25’E.

Why India is called subcontinent?

India is a subcontinent located in South of Asian continent. It is considered a subcontinent because it covers an expansive area of land that includes the Himalayan region in the north, the Gangetic Plain as well as the plateau region in the south.

What is the difference between monsoon and intertropical convergence zone?

ITCZ – a zonally elongated axis of surface wind confluence of northeasterly (NE) and southeasterly (SE) trade winds in the tropics. Monsoon Trough – the portion of the ITCZ which extends into or through a monsoon circulation, as depicted by a line on a weather map showing the location of minimum sea level pressure.

IT IS AMAZING:  Who is the first admiral of India?

Why is India divided into different physical divisions?

India lies largely on the Indian Plate, the northern portion of the Indo-Australian Plate, whose continental crust forms the Indian subcontinent Physical divisions, are marked by natural configuration. India may be divided broadly into five physical units as follows: The Great Mountains of the north.

What are the main physical features into which India has been divided?

The physical features of India can be divided into six categories, depending on their geological features:

  • The Himalayan Mountains.
  • The Northern Plains.
  • Indian Desert.
  • Peninsular Plateau.
  • Coastal Plains.
  • Islands.