Which states of India have common high court?

How many states in India have a common high court?

Hint: There are currently 28 states in India whereas there are 25 high courts in total. These 25 high courts along with the supreme court of India come together to form the Indian judicial system. Articles 214-231 of the Indian Constitution deal with the provisions of high courts.

Which High Court is common for 7 states?

Originally known as Mysore High Court, renamed as Karnataka High Court in 1973.

Name Punjab & Haryana 2 7
Date of establishment 11-8-1947
Act by which established High Court (Punjab) Order, 1947
Territorial jurisdiction State of Punjab and Haryana and U.T. of Chandigarh
Principal Seat Chandigarh

How many high courts are common to multiple states?

There are 24 High Courts in the country, three having jurisdiction over more than one State. Among the Union Territories Delhi alone has a High Court of its own.

Which Indian state has no high court?

Q3. Which state of India does not have its own High Court? Ans. Goa, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram and Nagaland does not have its own high court.

Which states have combined high courts?

Besides these following High Courts share with states and Union Territories:

  • Bombay high court – Maharashtra, Goa, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu.
  • Kolkata High court- Kolkata and Andaman and Nicobar.
  • Kerala high court- Kerala and Lakshadweep.
  • Madras high court- madras and Pondicherry.
IT IS AMAZING:  What are the factors contributing to the problems of slums in Mumbai India?

Which state is High Court of Guwahati?

The Gauhati High Court – High Court of Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh.

Does Arunachal Pradesh have high court?

The Gauhati High Court Itanagar Permanent Bench was inaugurated on 12th August, 2000 by the then Hon’ble Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of India, Justice (Dr.) A.S. Anand. It is located at Naharlagun(Itanagar), Arunachal Pradesh.