Who is the first Indian woman speaker of Lok Sabha?

Who was the first woman Speaker in India?

Shanno Devi (born 1 June 1901) was an Indian politician was the first woman speaker of a State Assembly in India.

Shanno Devi
In office 20 March 1951 – 26 March 1951
In office 19 March 1962 – 31 October 1966
Personal details
Political party Indian National Congress

Who is current Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha?

List of Deputy Speakers

No. Name Term
14 Kariya Munda 18 May 2014
(8) M. Thambidurai 25 May 2019
Vacant Incumbent

Who was 16th Lok Sabha Speaker?

Sumitra Mahajan was elected as its Speaker on 6 June 2014 and would remain in office until the day before the first sitting of the 17th Lok Sabha. M Thambidurai was elected as Deputy Speaker on 13 August 2014.

Who is the first woman central minister of India?

After India’s independence, Amrit Kaur became part of Jawaharlal Nehru’s first Cabinet; she was the first woman to hold Cabinet rank, serving for ten years. She was assigned the Ministry of Health. In 1950, she was elected the president of World Health Assembly.

Who is the head of Lok Sabha?

Leader of the House in Lok Sabha (IAST: Lok Sabhā Sadana ke Netā) is the Prime Minister by default if she/he is a member of the Lok Sabha.

IT IS AMAZING:  Frequent question: Which is the most popular staple food of India?
Leader of the House in Lok Sabha
Incumbent Narendra Modi since 26 May 2014
Member of Lok Sabha
Reports to Parliament of India
Formation May 1952

Who was the speaker of the first Lok Sabha constituted in 1952?

Lok Sabha officers

# Position Name
01 Speaker M.A. Ayyangar
02 Deputy Speaker M. A. Ayyangar Sardar Hukam Singh
03 Secretary-General M. N. Kaul
04 Leader of the House Jawaharlal Nehru

What is Parliament of India called?

The Parliament of India (Hindi: भारतीय संसद, IAST: Bhāratīya Sansad) is the supreme legislative body of the Republic of India. It is a bicameral legislature composed of the President of India and the two houses: the Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and the Lok Sabha (House of the People).

Who are Lok Sabha members?

Members of the Lok Sabha are elected by an adult universal suffrage and a first-past-the-post system to represent their respective constituencies, and they hold their seats for five years or until the body is dissolved by the President on the advice of the council of ministers.