What are the different school of Hindu law What are differences between them?

What are different types of school in Hindu Law?

Mitakshara is further divided into five sub-schools namely as following:

  • Benaras Hindu law school.
  • Mithila law school.
  • Maharashtra law school.
  • Punjab law school.
  • Dravida or Madras law school.

What are the different types of schools in Hindu Law Write the differences between the main schools?

The Different Schools of Hindu law | Explained

  • Schools of thoughts refer to the divided opinions on a subject matter. …
  • Benaras law school. …
  • Mithila law school. …
  • Maharashtra or Bombay law school. …
  • Madras law school. …
  • Punjab law school.

How many schools are there in Hindu Law?

There are two major schools of thought in Hindu Law. The first school of thought, the Mitakshara School, is orthodox. Over the years, the Dayabhaga school of thought evolved and it is more liberal in its approach towards the female gender.

What are the various schools of Hindu Law distinguish between Mitakshara school and Dayabhaga school?

Under Mitakshara school right to ancestral property arises by birth. Hence the son becomes the co-owner of the property sharing similar rights as of fathers. While in Dayabhaga school the right to ancestral property is only given after the death of the last owner.

IT IS AMAZING:  How much it takes to open a school in India?

What is the difference between commentaries and digests?

The work done to explain a particular smriti is called a commentary. Commentaries were composed in the period immediately after 200 AD. Digests were mainly written after that and incorporated and explained material from all the Smritis. Some of the commentaries were, Manubhashya, Manutika, and Mitakshara.

Who wrote yajnavalkya Smriti?

Which are the two school of HUF under Hindu law?

A Hindu Undivided Family (joint family) is governed by the two schools of Hindu Law viz; Mitakshara and Dayabhaga. (The Dayabhaga school is prevalent mainly in West Bengal and Assam whereas the Mitakshara school is prevalent in most of the other parts of India.)

What are the different sources of Hindu law?

So according to the traditional source of Hindu law, there are 4 sources of Hindu law, which are as follows: Shruti (Vedas) Smrities. Digest and commentaries.


  • Achar(relating to conduct and morality)
  • Vyavahar( Substantive rules which a king should follow)
  • Prayaschitta( penal provision for the commission of wrong)

What are the different sources of Hindu Law explain them?

Shrutis are considered to be the major source of Hindu law. Another term for Shruti is Veda. according to Hindu law, there are four Vedas namely, Rigveda, Samveda, Yajurveda, Atharveda. The brahmins used to pronounce what is written in these Vedas to the people.