What natural features does India have?

What are natural features of India?

In fact, our country has practically all major physical features of the earth, i.e., mountains, plains, deserts, plateaus and islands. The land of India displays great physical variation. Geologically, the Peninsular Plateau constitutes one of the ancient landmasses on the earth’s surface.

What are the five major physical features of India?

Note: India is majorly subdivided into five physical regions, namely, the northern mountainous region, north Indian plain, peninsular plateau, islands, and the coastal plain.

They are:

  • The Great Mountains of the north.
  • The north Indian plain.
  • The Peninsular Plateau.
  • The coastal plains.
  • The Islands.

How many natural parts of India are there?

The six natural regions are Himalayas, Peninsular Plateau, Indo Gangetic Plain. Thar Desert, Coastal Plains, and Islands.

What are the different physical features of India explain one of them?

The Peninsular Plateau (Includes the Deccan Plateau and the Central Highlands): These regions are known to be one of the oldest landmasses of India. The Deccan plateau covers the hilly region of the Western Ghats and the central highlands play host to the hilly region known as the Eastern Ghats.

IT IS AMAZING:  Frequent question: Is meat cheaper in India?

Which feature covers the largest part of India?


The Great Indian Plateau lies to the South of the Great Northern Plains. This is the largest physiographic division of our country. It covers an area of about 16 lakh square km, i.e., about half of the total area of the country. It is an old rocky plateau region.

Why is India called a subcontinent?

India is a subcontinent located in South of Asian continent. It is considered a subcontinent because it covers an expansive area of land that includes the Himalayan region in the north, the Gangetic Plain as well as the plateau region in the south.

Why is India known as a country having all major geographical features of the world?

1. India has a variety of geographical features like himalayas as mountain, Deccan plateau as plateau, northern plains etc. 2. Hence it is considered as a country of all the major geographical features.