Which state is Mumbai located?

How many states are there in Mumbai?

It is also known as Maharashtra Day, initially with 22 districts on 1974. 14 new districts have been created since then, and currently the number of districts in the state is 36.


Name Mumbai City
Formed 1 May 1960
Headquarters Mumbai
Administrative Division Konkan
Area (km2) 157

Is Mumbai and Maharashtra same state?

Upon India’s independence in 1947 the city was incorporated into Bombay State. In 1960, following the Samyukta Maharashtra Movement, a new state of Maharashtra was created with Bombay as the capital.


Mumbai Bombay
Country India
State Maharashtra
Division Konkan
District Mumbai City Mumbai Suburban

Was Mumbai part of Gujarat?

Bombay State

Province of Bombay (1947–1950) State of Bombay (1950–1960)
• Abolition of the Bombay Presidency, Deccan States Agency and Baroda, Western India and Gujarat States Agency (partial) 1947
• Merged Kutch State 1956

Where is Mumbai located short answer?

Mumbai is located on the western coast of Maharashtra state in western India, bordering the Arabian Sea.

Is Mumbai a city or state?

Mumbai (also known as Bombay, the official name until 1995) is the capital city of the Indian state of Maharashtra.

IT IS AMAZING:  Question: Which assault rifle is made in India?

Is Mumbai North or south India?

South India: Mumbai |The Financial Capital of India.

Who gave the name Mumbai?

In the mid-1990s, Shiv Sena, the Hindu nationalist party in power in Bombay, decided to change the city’s name to Mumbai, a name often used in local languages that derives from Mumba Devi, the patron Hindu goddess of the island’s original residents, the Koli fishermen.

Is Delhi a state?

Delhi, officially the National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT), is a city and a union territory of India containing New Delhi, the capital of India. It is situated alongside River Yamuna and bordered by Haryana state on three sides and by Uttar Pradesh state to the east.

Which is the No 1 state of India?

List of Top 10 Largest State of India (By Area)

Rank State Area (km2)
1 Rajasthan 3,42,239
2 Madhya Pradesh 3,08,252
3 Maharashtra 3,07,713
4 Uttar Pradesh 2,40,928

What is the capital of Gujarat?