Who won the 2019 election in India?

Who won UP Election 2019?

The 2019 Indian general election in Uttar Pradesh was held between 11 April and 19 May 2019 to constitute the 17th Lok Sabha. The election results were declared on 23 May which saw the BJP led Alliance winning majority of seats.

What happened in the election in India in 2019?

General elections were held in India in seven phases from 11 April to 19 May 2019 to elect the members of the 17th Lok Sabha. … The Indian National Congress won 52 seats, failing to get 10% of the seats needed to claim the post of Leader of Opposition, and the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance won 91.

Who elected Modi?

General election 2019

Party Candidate %
BJP Narendra Modi 63.62
SP Shalini Yadav 18.40
INC Ajay Rai 14.38
SBSP Surendra Rajbhar 0.84

How many seats won BJP in 2019?

Vote share of parties in the election

The BJP become the single largest party in the House and surpassed expectations to win 303 seats, with its alliance partners bringing the NDA to a total of 353 seats.

How many seats BJP has in UP?


Party Popular vote Seats
Votes Won
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 34,403,039 312
Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) 19,281,352 19
Samajwadi Party (SP) 18,923,689 47
IT IS AMAZING:  How much does it cost to post a letter in India?

When did Modi become PM?

Narendra Modi, parliamentary leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party, started the first tenure of his prime ministership, after his swearing-in as the 14th Prime Minister of India on 26 May 2014. 45 other ministers were also sworn in along with Modi.

Which state has election in 2019?

Legislative assembly elections

Date State Elected Chief Minister
11 April 2019 Andhra Pradesh Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy
11 April 2019 Arunachal Pradesh Pema Khandu
11, 18, 23, 29 April 2019 Odisha Naveen Patnaik
11 April 2019 Sikkim Prem Singh Tamang

Is Modi a Brahmin?

Modi is a surname in India, most commonly found among people from states of Rajasthan, Gujarat, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Jharkhand, and Uttar Pradesh. … It’s a Baniya surname but not specific to one baniya subcaste. The Modi’s from Rajasthan belong to the Rajput Kshatriya Caste who are Suryavanshis.